Montgomery County Administration:
501 North Thompson, Suite 401
Conroe, Texas 77301
Home » Courts » Justices of the Peace » Justice of the Peace Pct 4 » Information and Forms »
What are the options for traffic citations?
n You may pay the fine. Refer to the Schedule of Fines. For offenses not listed, please contact the Judge's office. NOTE: Payment of fines constitutes a plea of nolo contendere (no contest) and guilty verdict will be rendered.
n You may plea not guilty, and request either a Bench Trial (trial by judge) or Jury Trial (trial by jury).
n You may request to take a Driving Safety Course for ticket dismissal. This option is not available to holders of a commercial driver's license.
n You may request Deferred Disposition, where the justice of the peace my defer final disposition of a case and grant a period for probation-like conditions to be met by the defendant, under Art. 45.051, V.A.C.C.P. Note: This option is not available to holders of a commercial driver's license.
What are dismissible traffic offenses?
Certain offenses may be dismissed upon providing proof to the court. Those are only:
1. Failure to Maintain Financial Responsibility: It is a defense to prosecution if the person charged produces in court a motor vehicle liability insurance policy or a certificate of self-insurance previously issued to that person that was valid at the time that the offense is alleged to have occurred.
2. Expired Driver's License: A judge may dismiss a charge of driving with an expired driver's license if the defendant remedies the defect within 10 working days. When the defendant provides proof of the remedy to the court and pays a $12 administrative fee, this charge may be dismissed.
3. Expired Motor Vehicle Inspection: The court must dismiss a charge of driving with an expired inspection certificate if:
n the defendant remedies the defect within 10 working days;
n the inspection certificate has not been expired for more than 60 days
n the defendant pays an administrative fee of $12.00 to the court when the charge of driving with an expired inspection certificate has been remedied.
Failure to contact the court by the appearance date on the citation may result in additional charges being filed and issuance of an arrest warrant.
4. Expired Registration: A justice of the peace may dismiss a charge of driving with an expired motor vehicle registration if the defendant:
n remedies the defect not later than the 10th working day after the date of the offense;
n establishes that the DELINQUENT FEE has been paid;
n pays an administrative fee of $12 to when the charge is dismissed.
Are Payment Plans available?
The State of Texas requires that all fines and fees are payable at the time of sentencing. However, upon payment of state fees, you may apply to the court for Extended Time Payments. This requires additional paperwork and approval from the court.
Copyright © Montgomery County, Texas. All Rights Reserved.