Font Size

  • img

County Clerk

County Clerk
Mark Turnbull
Post Office Box 959, Conroe, Texas 77305

210 West Davis, Conroe, Texas 77301
Phone: 936-539-7885    Fax: 936-760-6990

Recording & Research Fees

 Official Public Record Fees

 Miscellaneous Fees and Services


Overview
The County Clerk's office maintains Official Public Records beginning in 1836. The records include deeds, land patent records, mortgages, judgments and tax liens.

E-recording

We offer e-recording of real property records for those who this statute applies. (LGC 195.003)
If you currently e-record documents in other counties, check with your vendor to see if we have an agreement with them. 


Fee payment
We accept checks for filing fees and they may be made payable to: Montgomery County Clerk

 

Recording Subdivision Plats (maps)
Plats are maps showing boundaries of subdivided land. A plat should be filed each time a legal boundary of a parcel is changed.
County plat - is a plat that requires approval from Commissioner's Court before it can be filed. Those fees are set by the County Engineer's Office and vary depending upon size.
City plat - is a plat within a city limit and the approval of the city council must be shown on the plat before it can be filed.

Military Discharge DD214
DD214 - Veterans are encouraged to record discharge papers with the County Clerk for safekeeping and proof of service for V.A. benefits.

Posting Legal Notices
Notices include public meetings, agendas and foreclosures are posted in the main hallway and on the east and west sides of the courthouse as well as in the parking garage area on the north side of the building. They are also posted on the County Clerk website at https://gov.kofiletech.us/tx-montgomery


Marks and Brands
Marks and Brands for livestock within the County should be recorded with the clerk's office. Marks and Brands presently recorded will expire August 30, 2011. Not later than six months after that date, each owner of livestock shall record his marks and brands with the clerk, regardless of whether or not they have been previously recorded.


Liquor License
 
Not all areas of the county are permitted liquor licenses. When an application for a license is made, the County Clerk shall certify whether the location given in the application is in a wet area. Each applicant for an original license shall pay a hearing fee of $5.00 per box marked for each application filed plus a $5.00 records management fee plus a $1 courthouse security fee. The County Clerk shall post written notice of the date set for the hearing.
 


Financing Statements / UCC's
The Uniform Commercial Code filing is a notice filed as evidence that a debtor and a secured party intend to engage in a secured transaction using specified collateral as security. Only fixture filings will be accepted in the county clerks office now and the fee will be real property record fees. Please contact the Secretary of State for filing fees on collateral that is not fixed to real property Unless continued, a financing statement is good for five years.

EXPLORE THE COUNTY

SEE THE SIGHTS

View Photo Gallery

STAY INFORMED

NEWSLETTER Signup