Assumed Names / DBA Fees
To start a business in the State of Texas, one needs to get an Assumed Name Certificate. Commonly known as "doing business as", most banks require an Assumed Name Certificate to open a business bank account. It is necessary to obtain an Assumed Name in every county where business will be conducted.
The filing fee for an assumed name is $8.50 for one owner. If there is more than one owner, add 50 cents for each additional name. This includes one certified copy for your records.
Before using the forms below, you should always seek the guidance of a professional tax consultant, accountant, bank and/or attorney to verify that all legal requirements are met before filing this Assumed Name form.
The County Clerk cannot determine the legal structure of your business or advise in completing the Assumed Name Certificate as required by the Texas Business and Commerce Code.
As the filer you are personally responsible for the accuracy of the information you provide. The County Clerk's official duty is to file the completed form.
An Assumed Name Certificate is good for 10 years from the date of filing unless a shorter time is specified on the certificate.
It is necessary to file an Abandonment of Assumed Name if the business closes or the business address changes. A Withdrawal from an assumed name is filed if one or more partners in the business wishes to withdraw. The same fees as above apply.
$1.00 per page. Add $5.00 for certification