Font Size

  • img

 

Frequently Asked Questions Due to COVID-19

Tax Office

Frequently Asked Questions Due to COVID-19

Important information regarding vehicle registration during COVID-19 disaster:

On March 13, 2020, Governor Greg Abbott declared a state of disaster for all Texas counties due to the threat of COVID-19.

  • Abbott issued a statement on March 16, 2020, granting a temporary extension to obtain initial registration, renewal of registration, and renewal of a permanent disabled parking placard.
  • Abbott also granted a temporary extension for an individual with an expired 30-day temporary permit to obtain another permit of Texas registration.
  • Abbott also granted the Texas Department of Motor Vehicles' (TxDMV) request for a waiver of the time in which to apply for title and the associated delinquent transfer penalty as a result of the Governor's Disaster Proclamation.
  • The Texas Comptroller's office is also providing an extension of up to 90 days past the original due date to pay the motor vehicle tax due on these purchases.
  • The Comptroller's office is authorized to make this extension by Section 111.051(b) of the Texas Tax Code.
  • Late penalties will be assessed as if the last day of the extension is the original due date.

Click a topic below to see how to process that transaction.

Registration Renewal

30 Day Permit

72 Hour & 144 Hour Permits for Commercial Vehicles

Specialty License Plate

Disability Placards

Title Transfers

Dealer Transactions

Property Tax Payments

Mobile Home Certificates

Bidder Certificates

Tax Certificates

Homestead Installment Payment Plans & Over 65 / Disability Quarter Pays

Special Inventory Tax (SIT)

Exemption & Property Value Questions

Refund Checks

Permit (Beer/Liquor/Wine) Payments and Renewals

Coin Operated Decals (Occupational Tax)

EXPLORE THE COUNTY

SEE THE SIGHTS

View Photo Gallery

STAY INFORMED

NEWSLETTER Signup